top of page
  • Writer's pictureDuncan Huaffe

Create Unique Websites with Craft CMS




First experience.

I found about Craft CMS through an existing website I was asked to upgrade back in 2018. At that time, I am only familiar with Joomla! but I was having security issues as the sites with Joomla! kept getting hacked into.

I was fresh out of school and questioned why I never heard of this CMS before. I some research into Craft and found that it only came about in 2012 - no wonder it was not in our syllabus. Since the project was an upgrade, it would be pointless to re-create a new site so I decided to go with it.


Content First Approach

Craft CMS is a content first approach - meaning it involves the use of content to define the layout and elements in a design. The advantage with this approach is to structure sites uniquely to better guide users/visitors see what you need them to see.

From a person who likes bulding things from the ground up, this is the perfect CMS to create unique sites without the use of templates (although you can use html templates).


Security


The thing I later found out was Craft is very secured. It allows you to create custom back end portals that only you know how to access rather than standard url/administrator or url/admin to acces the back end. With a paid subscription of $99 per annum, you can get all the updates to continuously secure your website.


Other advantages

Craft also allows you to back up your site data or transfer, allows you to create or install plugins to suit your content. Since it has a small community of users, all plugins are safer than other large CMS such as WordPress.


Users


I find it easier as a web developer to create a backend that allows my clients to login and update their own sites whenever they want to. You can create users, give permissions and allow each to update part or the entire site!


If you are looking for a custom and unique website that will standout, I suggest you learn more about Craft CMS. Also, you can see the latest website I've created using Craft CMS below. Feel free to comment and share


36 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page